

2019 Annual Membership Meeting Albuquerque NM NMBA Offices March 22, 2019

<u>Call to Order</u>: Bill Kruger, Chairman, called the meeting to order at 2:01pm.

<u>Attendance</u>: Board Members Bill Kruger, MaryAnn Armijo Charlie Blanco, Bill Anderson, Gillian Sutton, Estevan Gonzales, Mike Smith and Duffy Moon; Special Directors Adrian Velarde, Jim Burt and Steve Anaya; Members: Michelle Donaldson (KOB-TV), Lori Walton (KOAT-TV), Hope Romero (IHeart Media) and Michael Brasher (KANW) in person and Noalmark/Hobbs, Entravision/Albuquerque and Franz Joachim (KNME-TV) by phone; Attorney Art Melendres and Staff Paula Maes and Maryann Morton.

Quorum: The Quorum was met with 52 stations represented in person or by phone.

<u>Approval of Agenda and Minutes from March 23, 2018</u>: Motion by Mary Ann Armijo to accept the meeting Agenda and the Minutes from March 23, 2018, was seconded by Michael Brasher and carried.

Committee Reports:

- Treasurer's Report: Charlie Blanco Budgeted: Total Assets \$692,850.22, Total Income \$679,500, Total Expenses \$660,750. Projected Net Income \$18,750. Complete report in packets and on file at NMBA. Motion by Mary Ann Armijo to accept the financial report was seconded by Duffy Moon and carried.
- **Legal:** Art Melendres No new issues. Still advising not to advertise marijuana and hemp until it is Federally approved. This could happen when 1/3 of the states legalize it.
- **Legislative Issues**: No change in the GRT exemption on advertising for broadcasters. Lots of discussion about legalizing recreational marijuana and hemp. Nothing approved yet.
- NMBF Scholarships-List of stations qualified in packet, 80 stations qualified for scholarship money or internships. Albuquerque stations provide internships and the statewide stations receive \$300 each for community scholarships. Letters to stations will be going out the week of March 25.

Old Business: None

New Business

- 2019 NMBA By-Law Revision: Proposed changes were explained by Paula Maes and were included in the packets - Motion by Bill Anderson to approve the By Law changes as presented and seconded by Charlie Blanco carried.
- Election of At Large Member Nominations from the floor: Mary Ann Armijo nominated Estevan Gonzales as the At Large Member on the Executive Committee. The nomination was seconded by Bill Anderson. Estevan Gonzales was elected by the membership to represent them on the Executive Committee as the At Large Member.
- **Election of Board Members**: The following people were presented for election to the 2019-2021 Board of Directors (2-year terms)

Jeff Berry – Cumulus Media

Duffy Moon - Rooney Moon Broadcasting

Marina LaVoie – Ramar Communications

Sabrina Pack – Skywest Media

Bill Burt – Burt Broadcasting

Motion to elect the slate of candidates as presented made by Charlie Blanco was seconded by Gillian Sutton and carried.

Adrian Velarde – KRWG-TV Las Cruces was appointed to serve as the Educational Special Director.

Also presented for election to the Board of Directors for 2019-2020 (1-year terms) were:

Michelle Donaldson – KOB-TV (Hubbard)

Lori Walton – KOAT-TV (Hearst)

Hope Romero – iHeart Media

- Motion to elect the slate of candidates as presented made by Bill Anderson was seconded by Estevan Gonzales and carried.
- <u>Adjournment</u>: Motion to adjourn by Mary Ann Armijo was seconded by Mike Smith and carried.

The meeting was adjourned at 2:14pm

The next Annual Membership meeting will be held in March of 2020 (date TBD).

Respectfully submitted by Maryann Morton

3/25/2019