Inside the NMBA

New Mexico Broadcasters Association serves to promote cooperation and understanding among broadcasters, both radio and television, as well as enhance and promote relationships with businesses and other organizations in the service of communities throughout the state.

New Mexico radio and television broadcasters understand the importance of serving their community, and work hard at identifying local issues, providing free air time, and assisting community programs and organizations. From helping local charities to investigating corruption to reporting breaking news, our broadcasters keep communities engaged, informed, and alert.

In addition to being a vital partner in communities across the state, local radio and television play a key role in keeping the economy of the state and the country moving forward. By providing FREE entertainment, news and local programming, our members provide an important value to the American economy that is often overlooked. At its core, local TV and radio enhance economic productivity, efficiency and growth.

Member television stations cover community programs and events that encourage tourism, commerce and investment. Providing important information, New Mexico television and radio boost competition, encourage new investment and helps drive our economy.

In 2014, New Mexico broadcasters aired about 22,000 hours of local news coverage in every community and in many languages, including Spanish and Navajo. “Our station is a central clearance house for the region providing a daily 15 minute live program, Din’e Speaks,” KGAK in Gallup.

NMBA Executive Board of Directors

NMBA Chair Mary Ann Armijo

iHeart Media

Chair-Elect Charlie Blanco

Hubbard Broadcasting
Farmington  |  Roswell

Secretary Duffy Moon

Rooney Moon Broadcasting
Clovis | Portales

Treasurer Michael Smith

Bravo Mic Communications
Las Cruces

Past Chair Bill Kruger

American General Media
Albuquerque | Farmington

NMBA Board of Directors

Jeff Berry

Cumulus Media

Dr. Sabrina Pack

Skywest Media
Silver City

Marina LaVoie

Ramar Communications

Senator Bill Burt

Burt Broadcasting

Estevan Gonzales

KSWV Radio
Santa Fe

Hope Romero

iHeart Media
Albuquerque | Farmington

Michelle Donaldson

Hubbard Broadcasting
Albuquerque | Farmington | Roswell

Bill Anderson

Nexstar Media
Albuquerque | Roswell

Lori Waldon

Hearst Television

NMBA Special Directors

Adrian Velarde

KRWG Public Media
Las Cruces

Steve Anaya

Realtors Association of New Mexico
Santa Fe

Scott Arthur

Chief Engineer KOB-TV
Albuquerque | Farmington | Roswell

Charles Henson

New Mexico Car Dealers
Santa Fe

NMBA Staff

Paula Maes
President & CEO

Suzan Strong
Web Services Director

Susan Wrons
Foundation Director

Maryann Morton
Resources Director

Mike Langner
NMBA Engineer

Melanie Majors
Media Trainer